Show off that bootie!

Booties are everywhere. So how to find (and wear) your own bootie?

First,  light or dark? If you’ve got long skinny legs, you’re lucky – you can do either.  If you don’t, the light colors, worn either with dark jeans, or on their own with a dress or skirt, will cut off your legs and its just not flattering. Same goes for dark booties, worn with light jeans, or skirts/shorts. It doesn’t mean you have to be tall, but if you’re on the shorter side, your legs should be long, proportionally (and be little and skinny).

See below. Kate can pull either color off, with shorts, pants, skirts, whatever. But unless you look like her, be honest and use your judgement. Alas, I will be getting black, despite my obsession with the light suede. I was honest with myself, and I just couldn’t pull it off.

Kate is wearing the infamous Isabel Marant Dicker Bootie. Kate can not only pull off this look, she can afford it!

    

Some more wallet-friendly options.

Sam Edelman Petty. If I didnt want a little height with mine, I would keep these (I’m still considering it). I like the slightly pointed toe (vs totally round) and wooden heel. Takes away from stubby/clunky factor). Also available on endless and shopbop, as well as many others.

Product Image

Sam Edelman Petty in Putty Suede

Product Image

Product Image

Sam Edelman Petty in Black

Dolce Vita Jamison. These may be the winner for me, with the slightly higher, but very walkable 2.5 inch heel.

Available at Zappos, Nordstrom, Piperlime (who is offering 15% off TODAY ONLY), shoes.com, Amazon.

Product Image

Dolce Vita Jamison in Black

Product Image

Dolce Vita Jamison in Taupe

I absolutely love these Rag and Bone booties. They offer a little more detail and urban chic. They would be fabulous with a dainty, girly outfit as a contrast, or perfection with simple skinny jeans and a tank, or sweater.  Also, available at net-a-porter.

My favorites are from a season or two ago  –  my Apepazza peep toe shooties (slightly lower shaft height than a bootie, if you want to know the distinguishing factor between “shootie” and “bootie”). Since these are so light, close to flesh tone, and they are truly ankle height, I can actually wear these with dark jeans and skirts! (the huge heels don’t hurt). They are also unbelievably comfortable.

Happy shopping, and enjoy showing off your new bootie (s)!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I looooooove the rag & bone bootie… GD that stupid parking ticket!! xx

    Reply
  2. I know. Im now obsessing over it. Cant stop thinking about it. At least you understand 🙂

    Reply
  3. love the sam edelman’s and dolci vita’s. i’ve been sporting steve madden’s pembrook and just picked up seychelles’ theory. love the booties! they are so versatile.

    Reply
  1. Getting Ready for Fall: Fall Obsessions #1 «

Leave a comment